Skip to main content

Meet the Team

Learn more about the SweetARMOR team below!



Dr. Craig Yencho
Project Director,
North Carolina State University
Sweetpotato Breeding
yencho@ncsu.edu


Dr. Adrienne Gorny
Co-PD, NCSU
Nematode Management
agorny@ncsu.edu


Dr. Katie Jennings
Principal Investigator, NCSU
Weed Management
katie_jennings@ncsu.edu
919-740-4500


Dr. Jonathan Schultheis
PI, NCSU
Cultural Management Practices
jonathan_schultheis@ncsu.edu


Dr. Michael Kudenov
PI, NCSU
Imaging Analysis and Remote Sensing
mwkudeno@ncsu.edu


Dr. Daniel Tregeagle
PI, NCSU
Economic Analysis
tregeagle@ncsu.edu


Dr. Bode Olukolu
PI, University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture
Genomics and Bioinformatics
bolukolu@utk.edu


Dr. Tristan Watson
PI, Louisiana State University
Nematode Management
twatson@agcenter.lsu.edu


Dr. Tara Smith
PI, LSU
Sweetpotato Production and Pest Management
tsmith@agcenter.lsu.edu


Dr. Don La Bonte
PI, LSU
Sweetpotato Breeding
dlabonte@agcenter.lsu.edu


Dr. Arthur Villordon
PI, LSU
Sweetpotato Production
avillordon@agcenter.lsu.edu


Dr. Christopher Clark
PI, LSU
Diseases of Sweetpotato
cclark@agcenter.lsu.edu


Dr. Niranjan Baisakh
PI, LSU
Plant Abiotic Stress and Genomics
nbaisakh@agcenter.lsu.edu


Dr. Phillip Wadl
PI, USDA ARS
Genetics
phillip.wadl@usda.gov


Dr. William Rutter
PI, USDA ARS
Nematology
william.rutter@usda.gov


Dr. Mark Shankle
PI, Mississippi State University
Crop Row Production
mark.shankle@msstate.edu


Dr. Lorin Harvey
PI, MSU
Agronomy
lh1853@msstate.edu


Dr. Scott Stoddard
PI, University of California Cooperative Extension
Soil Fertility and Soil Conservation
csstoddard@ucanr.edu

Meet the Advisory Board



Kay Rentzel
Executive Director
US Sweet Potato Council


Michelle Grainger
Executive Director
NC Sweet Potato Commission


Rene Simon
Executive Director
LA Sweet Potato Commission


Caleb Englert
President MS Sweet
Potato Council -
Grower


Jamie Earp
Vice President MS
Sweet Potato Council –
Grower & Packer


Matt Garber
Garber Farms
Grower & Packer


Todd O’Neal
Black Gold Farms
Grower


Hunter Fife
Lamb Weston Manager
Ag Operations; Frozen foods


Jim Jones
Jones Family Farms
Seed producer


Josh Barnes
Barnes Farming
FarmPak
Plant propagation & postharvest storage;
Seed producer


Darren Barfield
Quail H Farms
President of SP Council
of CA, Shed Manager,
Grower & Packer


Kim LeQuire
Kornegay Family Farms & Produce
Grower & Packer


Jennifer Corbin
Senior Project Manager – Clemson based
USDA NIFA SCRI
Nematode grant


Bob Weimer
Weimer Farms
Grower


Jerry Lee
McCalls Farms Director of Agriculture -
Product Procurement
Canning & Frozen foods